Gallery

Art from the Pondering Pool

art that expresses philosophy of life

Art by Susan Mrosek

The other day, Joy and I were visiting the Gulfport Market – one of our favorite things to do on Tuesdays or Saturdays.   While inside Domain Home Accessories, Joy introduced me to the art of Susan Mrosek in their card section.  To the left is the card that I chose to bring home because it expresses the philosophy of life that my granddaddy taught me and serves as a visual reminder for me to exercise.

Granddad always said: “Make the Scenery Pretty!”  He believed that ANYTIME you went out in public and you were going to be seen by folks, you needed to make it a pleasant experience for them! And he lived by this philosophy:  one day while digging out a tree stump, it fell on top of him.  After pushing it off and getting out of the hole, he literally crawled into the house and took a shower, then put on a suit with tie and matching handkerchief to go to the doctor’s! Pain was not an excuse! He viewed body pain as reassurance he was alive!

Years ago, I found a vintage cross stitch of a Victorian photographer with a seated lady as his subject. Below the silhouette, the text read:  “All the world’s a camera – look pleasant please” and that hung in our photography studio for over 2 decades.  I always do my best to honor my grandfather’s code of fashion!

So it seemed only natural to choose another piece of art to express this same philosophy for Joyful Sunsations.  We hope that you’ll choose our bling as the ribbons you wear to enhance your dance in life…even if that dance might be a bit painful.

Please take a few moments to visit Susan’s website: The Pondering Pool and find a piece of art to express your life philosophy!

Leave a comment